Life is like a Bicycle

Life is like a BicycleHello Bugs!

Firstly, I would like to say that I’m back at home in Texas and don’t have the luxury of a working scanner here like I do in my dorm room in Montana, so we are back to photographs of my art for the time being. Sorry about that. Anyway, continuing on….

So you remember when I said that I would be posting a lot over break? Well clearly that hasn’t exactly happened. But the good news is that I have done a lot of art over break, I just haven’t had many chances to sit down and tell you about it yet. But here I am now, making up for it.

So today I decided to share with you one of my newest art journal pages. For Christmas I got a bunch of new art toys that I’m really excited about, and this page was kind of my experiment to use all of them and see how they worked. I started by spraying the page with my new dylusions ink sprays (which are the best thing since sliced bread), and stamping a simple border along the bottom of the page. I also did a few fancy things with some stencils on the page, such as spraying over a stencil with water to make faint marks on the page (see all of those funny little lightly colored bubbles all over the page? Voila!). I also stuck some matching washi tape in the middle of my page so that the ink sprays I will use on other pages in the future won’t soak through and mess up my lovely composition. Next I grabbed some card stock and my sakura gel pens (which weren’t new, but they are one of my favorite art supplies ever so I still decided to use them), and created that lovely bicycle you see on the right hand page. Here’s a close up of the bike after carefully cutting it out and pasting it on the page.

Bicycle As you can see, it’s not perfect. I didn’t always color perfectly in the lines and there are a few random smudges on the white part of the wheel (I honestly have no idea how a green smudge got there since I didn’t use green). But I am trying to teach myself to go with the flow when it comes to my art journaling and not be a perfectionist, which is quite the process for me. Overall though, I’m pretty happy with my shimmery gel-penned bike. And I think it really ties the whole page together.

My next step was to create the purple hearts that are scattered around the page. I sprayed another piece of paper with purple and white ink sprays and cut out the hearts, stuck bicycle washi tape to them (because when you are both an artist and a triathlete, that’s something that will be inevitably sitting around somewhere in your house), and darkened the edges with black ink and a sponge. I got this idea from a pinterest art journal page that did the same concept with music note washi tape, and I really like how it came out. Here’s another closeup.

Bicycle Heart

After my hearts were completed all I had to do was draw a sunshine on card stock, cut it out, paste it on, and draw my quote on the left hand page. I also fixed a little mess up of mine; you see the Albert Einstein tag on the bottom of the quote? Well, I originally had stamped something there. But once I wrote my quote, I didn’t like the way the stamp looked with it, I thought it was too close to the writing and didn’t like it anymore. So, with some advice from my swell artistic mother, I decided to both cover up my mistake and give credit to Einstein for his words of wisdom all at the same time, and I love how it came out. I simply used the same paper that I had used earlier for my hearts, so it was super simple!

For my very last finishing touches I dipped the edge of a glue stick cap in red ink and stamped it all over the page, making those little red rings you see scattered around. It needed just a little touch of color, and that did the job!

Well, I hope you enjoyed my rambling about my art journal page. I’m loving my dylusions ink sprays, I highly recommend them for you artistic bugs out there!

Happy 2015, bugs! Keep arting!

Love,

Laney-Bug ❤

Medium used: dylusions ink sprays, dylusions stamps, dylusions stencils, washi tape, card stock, sakura gel pens, black micron pens

Leave a comment