On the Road to Wellness… Theoretically.

Alright bugs. So… it’s been a while. But, I’M BACK. (I know, I know, I say that every time). However, now that I’m back, this whole blog thing is going to work a little differently.

I obviously didn’t blog much last semester (judging from the fact that my last published blog post was about my trip to Africa… jeesh), and that’s because I let school and this thing called stress that often comes along with school get the best of me. Not only that, but when I let school get the best of me I didn’t have much time to do art. When I didn’t have time to do art I often didn’t have time to blog. And when I did have time to blog I didn’t have any art to blog about. Life is a struggle. Anyway…

SO. NEW PLAN. I am no longer going to call this an “art blog”. This will now just be a blog where I talk about whatever is going on in my life that I feel like sharing, whether it be art, school, or blabbing on to you about how great my friends are. AND THIS IS WHY…

So I am currently enrolled in a class called “Personal Health”. As an exercise science major it’s apparently important to learn about how to take care of yourself as well as how to exercise properly. Funny, huh? Anyway, about two weeks ago we completed this funny thing called a “wellness wheel”. Basically the point is to answer a bunch of questions regarding different aspects of “wellness”, get points based on your answers, do some math with those points, and see what portions of “wellness” are fulfilled in your life and which ones are not.  I got super high scores (which means they are fulfilled) on things like exercise and nutrition, I got about average scores on social life and sleep, and I got some not-so-good scores on the mental health and stress levels of my life. Figures. ANYWAY, this semester we are supposed to come up with a “plan” to try and improve our levels on the aspects that we didn’t do so well on, so I have to come up with things that will help decrease my stress levels. Generally the things you hear regarding how to decrease stress levels are “eat healthy” and “exercise more often”, but clearly I’ve got those things covered. So at first I was totally flabbergasted at how to even go about life in a way that doesn’t stress me out. I mean, we all know that that is new territory for me. However, we talked about the “stress” chapter in class yesterday and one of the suggestions was to reflect in some way, such as a journal or… a BLOG. So here I am. Hopefully melting some of my stress away by ranting to you (whoever you may be) about the chaotic life of a college student who is still trying to figure out this whole “life” thing.

Also my best friend is currently studying abroad in a far far away land and she blogs, so I decided it would be cool if I could read her blogs and she could read mine and we could pretend (at least for a few moments at a time) that we weren’t thousands of miles apart. Hi Kit-Kat. 🙂

Well, later in the week I will try to give you basically an updated version of my life since I haven’t posted anything in 5 months. And wow, a lot has changed in the last 5 months. But for now, just know that I am back and haven’t dropped off the face of the earth. That’s reassuring, right? Maybe it’ll decrease your stress levels.

Have a fantastic weekend, bugs!

Love,

Laney-Bug ❤

 

 

 

Leave a comment